Northland secondary school surfers will no doubt be getting ready for the 3rd and final event of the 2011 Northland Scholastics Surfing Series to be held this coming Friday 8th July. Mangawhai Heads is the primary choice of venue for contest organisers, as the previous events have been run in the Far North (Ahipara) and Central (Sandy Bay) beaches, and the third event has been scheduled for the southern zone location of Mangawhai.

However the long range swell forecasts are indicating a remnant ground swell on the East Coast and a large swell building on the west Coast from a deep Southern Ocean depression, so contest organisers are looking at the possibility of  running the event at the Far North Points of Ahipara.

Current Under 14 National Champion Manu Scott-Arrieta (Whangarei Boys High School) is leaps ahead of the rest of the pack in the hotly contested Under 14 Boys Division. The electric natural footer who hails from Sandy Bay is a true asset to Northland surfing with his humble approach on land and dynamic ability in the water. Scott-Arrieta, who is following in the footsteps of his older brother Patxi, will be looking to impress the judges and etch his name on the Series whether the event ends up on the East Coast or West. Other surfers to watch out for include Mangawhai Heads surfer Ryan Renall (Rodney College) , Ahipara’s Sergio Hansen (Kaitaia College) and Matt Jensen (Bream Bay College).

Joe Palmer (Kerikeri High School) is leading the Under 16 Boys Division, which is also the largest being contested in the 2010 Series. Hot on his heals is Fraser Seymour (Whangarei Boys High) and both surfers were team mates in the 2009 Northland Scholastics Team that competed at the national event in Gisborne.  The level of surfing in this age group has been of a high standard, and with 32 competitors at the 2nd event held at Sandy Bay, there is a depth of talent which will ensure the best surfers can be selected to represent the region. Other surfers to watch out for in the Under 16 Boys division include  Matt McGregor (Kamo High School ) , Flynn Cribb (Kaitaia College) and Brendan Lagemaat (Rodney College)

In the Under 18 Boys it’s a neck and neck race between Louie Smith (Rodney College) and Patxi Scott-Arrieta (Kamo High School). Both surfers have claimed victories, Smith at Ahipara and Scott-Arrieta at his home break of Sandy Bay, and it will be an action packed final event with both surfer capable of taking victory. Other surfers to watch out for the in the Under 18 Boys division include Jack Treacy (Whangarei Boys High School) and Ari Tidyman (Rodney College).

In the Girls division it is also a close race between Rodney College students and close friends Alana Thrasyvoulou and Robyn Turnbull. Thrasyvoulou drew first blood at Ahipara and the goofy footer from Mangawhai Heads really enjoyed the long, peeling waves at the fabled left hand point break. Turnbull turned it around taking victory in the less than ideal conditions at Sandy Bay. Both surfers are top athletes in Northland and will be looking to stamp their mark on girls surfing come Friday.

Karl Hines (Bream Bay College) is leading the Longboard Division ahead of good mates and fellow Bream Bay College surfers Jake Moffat and Fraser Coutts. Sole Body Boarder Sam Moffat (Bream Bay College) is on top in his division.

The 2010 Northland Scholastics Surfing Team will be selected based on overall results from the NSSS combined with a surfers National and International rankings and competitive experience. The 2010 Surfing NZ National Scholastics Surfing Event is being held in Northland from 10th-14th October, which should play right into the hands of the Northland team , having a home ground advantage.

For more information about the 3rd NSSS event contact Tony Baker 021907066 or or Deb Miller

A final call on venue will be made on Wednesday 6th July 2010.

The event is kindly supported by the following organisations and groups : Sport Northland , North Coast Board Riders, Tutukaka Surf Company,  Mangawhai Board Riders, SLIDE Magazine , Kiwi Surf Magazine and the wider Northland Surfing Community.

Mauri ora.

Tony Baker // Contest Director

2011 Northland Scholastics Surfing Series

021 907066


Australia Wins the Team Gold Medal in the 2011 Billabong ISA World Surfing Games

Australia won the Billabong ISA World Surfing Games Team Gold Medal, and was awarded te Fernando Aguerre World Team Trophy today in glassy and consistent two-to-four feet waves in Panama’s Playa Venao. Three years after their last victory in Portugal in 2008, the Aussies put their country back on top as the premiere surfing National Team in the world.

“This year we brought a mixture of experienced surfers and young guys from the Pro Junior Series,” said Team Australia Coach, Martin Dunn. “This proves that Australia has great talent in every level; athletes who can perform under pressure.”

The New Zealand team finished a creditable 9th out of 27 countries represented at the games

see more